top of page

You would think i would get use to it

Updated: Sep 7, 2020

After being sick so long you would think I would get used to people looking at me and talking about me like they do but I really have not. I have learned to deal with it but I have never really gotten used to it as much as I want to say I have I haven't. I have just gotten where I could push through it! these are the things I am talking about

  1. pitty faces and reactions

  2. the chatter and the whispers

  3. the lies

  4. the people who think I am faking

  5. the looks of you aren't sick

  6. the looks of I am tired of this

  7. People telling me if I wanted to get better I would

  8. People comparing my chronic illness to a broken bone or a sprained ankle

  9. the bullying I get from being chronically ill

  10. people telling me that I just do not want to get better

  11. the way people start to treat me when they get tired of me being sick

  12. the I am sorry's

just so much more I don't want to be a charity case and I can't help that my illnesses do not go away in a few days or weeks or months or years! I can't help that you have been around me for 10 months and you are tired of everything that comes with me. I wish you could see it in my eyes! Just close your eyes and imagine as a little 5-year old that your life just changed! You now have to deal with a neurologist and MRIs and CT scans you know have a TBI. I have had to live through the grief and pain that chronic illnesses put you through. I had to go through the pain of realizing I was not able to be in the high-level programs I was in anymore. Well, I never actually understood why I was not in GT or dual language anymore, The pain I went through with having to give up sports and not being able to do much P.E, The friends I lost because I was sick. I can't describe to you how much it destroyed me that I was sick and I was just getting worse. I was in denial for a long time and so confused. How do you think I feel that this never went away and other problems come up and they never go away either. Instead of letting that destroy me, I get that something like this is very hard to live with and it can be a burden on people. Then again look at how that burden just makes me feel more like a burden. I know people get afraid when here someone has chronic illness and disabilities. Here is my advice don't give advice unless asked. Just be there for them listen to the let them do things on their own as much as possible. You still need to help them just try to give them a little independence. There are good days look at the person and not the illness or disability.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Dysautonomia

How many have heard this term before? I can tell you that not very many have! Dysautonomia is a diagnosis and it has many different forms! We call it an umbrella because it has so many different kinds

I have been MIA (missing in action)

Life seems to just take over. No matter how much you set your mind to do certain things that does not always happen. I am trying really hard to set goals for the month and certain ones for the week. I

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page