top of page

Dysautonomia

How many have heard this term before? I can tell you that not very many have!

Dysautonomia is a diagnosis and it has many different forms! We call it an umbrella because it has so many different kinds and causes so many different illnesses/symptoms.

Here is a list of a few that I have

  1. (POTS) Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome and,

  2. (OI)Orthostatic Intolerance and,

  3. (OH)Orthostatic Hypotension

You must be like ok but what does all of that mean? Well, it means that I have problems with different positions and so much other stuff! So let's start with POTS and then we will go down the list.

  1. (POTS) Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome: Standing and different positions can cause problems especially standing. The blood flow does not work as it should I deal with blood pulling. When I am standing my brain doesn't get the blood it needs it goes down to my legs and feet. My heart has to work twice as hard so my heart rate is really fast.

  2. (OI) Orthostatic Intolerance: Have a problem with standing for long periods of time. This is because it makes me feel really bad and affects my heart rate and makes me dizzy and lightheaded. The thing is it doesn't just have to be standing. Thou it mainly is standing.

  3. (OH) Orthostatic Hypotension: This means that standing can cause my blood pressure to be extremely low. The thing is it does not just have to be standing but it mainly has to do with standing up.

These all cause so many problems. This is an autonomic dysfunction that is what dysautonomia is your autonomic nervous system does not work, So everything your body does on its own either under does it or over does it and there is also a chance where it is not able to do a certain function. My body temperature regulation does not work as it should. I am extremely hot eternally so when I get hot it causes more problems and I can get cold out of the blew and go back to being hot. I also get where half of my body is ice cold and then the other side is extremely hot.

This diagnosis definitely makes my life difficult but I keep going and I continue to fight. Never give up no matter how hard and miserable it gets there is always hope.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I have been MIA (missing in action)

Life seems to just take over. No matter how much you set your mind to do certain things that does not always happen. I am trying really hard to set goals for the month and certain ones for the week. I

Walk to end Epilepsy!

I have been MIA lately that is for sure! I am sorry for that! Life has just been a little chaotic. This post is about my journey with epilepsy and why I spread awareness for so many others and for mys

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page