top of page

How being sick has brought me closer to the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

Updated: Oct 13, 2020

I am a daughter of God, so are you! You are a son or daughter of God, and you matter! Today is Sunday, the 11th of October. Today at church, it was Fast and testimony Sunday. This is when we fast from 2 meals or 24 hours. I cant fast from food and water because of my health problems, but I find other ways too fast! You do not just have to fast from food and water; I promise there are other things you can do. On fast and testimony meeting, we have the opportunity to share our testimony. I thought about going up and sharing mine, but there are stairs, even thou it is just two steps. I have a hard time using the stairs with my neurologically issues and with my eye disorder. I have a hard time going up my stairs at home even. I will share a bit of my testimony right here. I have been sick since I was a little kid. I dealt with anxiety and depression starting at 6 years old. I was just a little kid and I had mental health problems off the bat. I got a traumatic brain injury from a car accident at 5 years old. Then I started getting diagnosed with a chronic cough, asthma, eczema and at 8 years old I got diagnosed with epilepsy and chronic headaches and migraines. My life changed big time as I got sick and i just kept getting worse. Let's jump to 16 years old I had a stroke my left side is paralyzed. I have a neuromuscular disorder as well. Now at 21 years old, I have dysautonomia. I have different forms of this where my autonomic system does not work. Think of Multiple Sclerosis it is kind of like that. Dysatuonmia affects every single organ. I have many different disorders because of my dysautonomia. when I had my stroke I had to learn to walk again and correctly and I'm still working on that every day. I had to learn the basic skills you learn when you are a little kid. I am still working on some of those skills but I will not stop. I have many other problems as well, but I will stop right here. The thing is all of the diagnosis and all of the treatment and the things it has done to me has left major side effects. Yes, it is extremely hard and something I really didn't want to go through it can be miserable. I am going to tell you that being sick has been one of the biggest blessings I have had. You may be asking how could this be a blessing. Let me tell you because I know about the restored gospel of Jesus Christ! I know about the atonement of Jesus Christ!I know I am never alone even when I feel like I am lost and alone! Jesus Christ knows me and knows everything I feel because he has felt my pain my sorrows my frustration and my happiness! You are never alone as well the atonement of Jesus Christ applies to us all! I know one day I will not be sick anymore I will have a perfect body and this is because of the atonement of Jesus Christ! I can't tell you the Joys I have found from the little things such as getting a B or a C was a big deal for me because I have learning disabilities and math started to get extremely hard for me. When I got a B or a C it was hard for me but it was a thrill at the same time. I will say at first when I started struggling in school it was very hard for me because I was in the dual language program and gifted and talented program in elementary school. Then I went downhill and I had to get taken out of the high-level programs! This was hard for me but I got through it and getting a B or a C in math was exciting for me! I started struggling in other areas as well but I got in the SPED program and got the help I needed. I was still in regular classes I just needed extra help. Passing was a huge thing for me even if it was just a C!The joy of learning how to walk again was such a huge accomplishment. The happiness of going a day seizure free!The faces of others when I never give up! The way I am able to help people just because of the trials I face. I can't tell you how much my chronic illnesses have helped so many other people! The joy I get when I am able to wake up in the morning without being in pain of any kind. When I am able to walk and when I don't fall all the time. The joy of learning how to ride a bike again!The joy of learning how to swim again.The excitement when I figure out how to do things with my hand and foot or hand and mouth!The joy when I help others who are going through similar things. I rely on the Presithood so much in my life! The priesthood is the power and authority of God. When I get a blessing I learn that I am not alone and how much I am loved by Jesus Christ and Heavenly Father.I am told that I am helping so many people from my trials! The priesthood is an amazing gift and I am grateful to be able to turn to it throughout my life.The knowledge that me being sick is helping others helps me to keep going.I want you to know that if me being sick helps others is something I would not change.I am grateful that I am able to help others through my trials!Now I am not going to tell you I don't get frustrated and mad and lonely and trapped because I do, but I have this light that glows inside me.I have a best friend/a brother Jesus Christ and a Heavenly Father who loves and cares for me. Jesus Christ has given us so many tools to help us through this life.I turn to the book of Mormon daily and I learn something new daily.When I feel lost and alone I find hope and a reason not to give up!I have been given people in my life from Christ to help me.These people are very special and kind and they see me for who I am and not a sick and disabled person.They see me as a person a daughter of God a sister! Some people get mad at me when I say this but I will tell you and I hope you can see it and view it as hope!I would not change the fact I am so sick!The reason is that I have gotten so close to my father and brother in heaven!I have grown in ways I can not express.Honestly, it scares me if I did not have these trails.The reason is that I do not want to know the person I would be without these trails to help me grow! I am afraid I would not be so close to Jesus Christ and Heavenly Father and I fear I wouldn't have turned to the restored gospel as much! I am not saying I don't want to be seizure-free and not have to take so much medication.I would love to have fewer symptoms all the time, but I would not want to not experience these trails. I realize some people will think I am crazy! You are 100% right I am but I also know that Christ decided he would give his own life for me and you!Here is something else I know the plan of salvation we were given in the pre-mortal life before we came to earth.We wanted to be like heavenly father and Jesus Christ we knew this experience was going to be hard, but we accepted to face these trails so we could be like our father and brother! I agreed and was willing to face these trials and I am greatful I did because they have changed my life and one day I will be like our heavenly father and brother! I am not saying I am happy all the time because I am not but the gospel helps me to see the light. Keep fight and keep pressing forward please turn to Christ and never give up!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Dysautonomia

How many have heard this term before? I can tell you that not very many have! Dysautonomia is a diagnosis and it has many different forms! We call it an umbrella because it has so many different kinds

I have been MIA (missing in action)

Life seems to just take over. No matter how much you set your mind to do certain things that does not always happen. I am trying really hard to set goals for the month and certain ones for the week. I

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page