top of page

College and Chronic illnesses

Updated: Sep 23, 2020

I am an average college student. I am 21 years old, and I attend a community college in my home town. I sound like an average college student, but I'm not! I am a college student that is fighting every day for my own life! I fight to learn and earn a degree! I fight a battle that I will never stop fighting, and that is my own body! I have many chronic illnesses and disabilities. I try to fight off the fatigue and the cloudy brain fog and the pain and the memory loss. I try to fight off the seizures, and the thing is that's not possible. I try to fight off the medication side effects. I try to live a life just like everyone else. I try to do what others my age do! I am in college because I want to do some good in the future. The thing is college is hard for any college student. I have to work 100 times harder just to succeed. This is not just because of my chronic illness; it has a huge part. This is also because of my Traumatic Brain Injury and my memory loss from brain cells dying. When you add my learning disabilities and my brain injuries as well as my chronic illnesses, it is a whole bunch! I had a hard day after class yesterday we took a quiz of a book we had to read and I failed it. I try so hard but I have a hard time reading something and tell you about it! I don't have reading comprehension! I have both short term and long term memory loss! Yet I am still in college why? Why would I put myself through the heartache and the energy! I do it because I will not let my chronic illnesses and my disabilities rule my life. I will show the world having intellectual disabilities and physical disabilities, as well as mental and life-threatening and nonlife-threatening illnesses, DOES NOT HAVE TO STOP YOU! I know that you do not have to let your illnesses defend you and you are capable of anything. I will not give up on my dreams because of my health problems making things so much harder! I believe in Christ and I know he believes in me! I believe in you go after your dreams! As always keep pressing forward and never give up!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Dysautonomia

How many have heard this term before? I can tell you that not very many have! Dysautonomia is a diagnosis and it has many different forms! We call it an umbrella because it has so many different kinds

I have been MIA (missing in action)

Life seems to just take over. No matter how much you set your mind to do certain things that does not always happen. I am trying really hard to set goals for the month and certain ones for the week. I

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page